Rittinger Award

Five awardees recognized in the 2014 Rittinger Award

In a ceremony held at the conference banquet at the 11th IEA Heat Pump Conference in Montreal Dr. Michel Bernier, Mr. Frédy Burkhalter, Mr. Daniel Ellis, Dr. Andrew Pearson and Dr. Koichi Watanabe were given the prestigious Ritter von Rittinger Medal, the highest international award in the air conditioning, heating and refrigeration field.

The award highlights outstanding contributions to the advancement of international collaboration in research, policy and market development and applications for energy-efficient heat pumping technologies that result in environmental benefits. It is awarded every three years in conjunction with the International IEA Heat Pump Conference.

Dr. Sophie Hosatte, Chair of the IEA Heat Pump Programme Executive Committee, presented the awards:

“It is my great pleasure to recognize these dignified gentlemen and honour them with the industry’s most prestigious prize”, said Dr. Sophie Hosatte during the ceremony. “Our award winners are undoubtedly five of the most influential individuals also in the history of the IEA Heat Pump Programme.”



The 2014 Rittinger awardees 

fredy_burkhalter_web2 Mr. Frédy Burkhalter,the CEO of the Swiss Friotherm company, Switzerland, was acknowledged for his contributions in market development and applications of large heat pumps. Mr. Burkhalter’s activities on the large capacity heat pump market, with various heat sources and high hot water production temperatures have made a big impact on the Sulzer Friotherm centrifugal compressor development. His work has led to many developments e.g. high temperature heat pump technology in district heating applications in Sweden, the first heat pump in Brazil, producing tap water at 80°C and the world’s largest sea water pump station in Stockholm.

daniel_ellis_web2 Mr. Daniel Ellis, the President of ClimateMaster Inc., USA was recognized for his product innovation and market development activity for geothermal heat pumps. Mr. Ellis has been active with geothermal heat pumps since 1978 and is recognized as one of the industry pioneers and he led the industry efforts that resulted in U.S. federal tax incentives for GSHPs. Mr. Ellis has been a strong supporter of international technical collaboration and his technical contributions include residential energy analysis software, development of advanced technology heat pumps and design procedures for commercial systems.

andrew_pearson_web3 Dr. Andrew Pearson, from Star Refrigeration Ltd, Scotland was awarded for his contributions in research and industrial refrigeration systems engineering. Dr. Pearson is well-known internationally through his IIR and ASHRAE activities and his work with more efficient refrigeration systems and troubleshooting of faulty, inefficient or unreliable equipment. He is very active in many associations and is Chairman of the Institute of Refrigeration’s Technical Committee and past-President of the Institute.

koichi_watanabe_web2 Dr. Koichi Watanabe, Professor Emeritus of Keio University, Japan was highlighted for his research and publications in the field of thermophysical properties. Dr. Watanabe has during his career published more than 350 scientific and technical papers and books and is an internationally-recognized expert in the field of thermophysical properties of fluids. He has been Visiting Professor at the Polytechnical University of Marche at Ancona, Italy and at the Institute of Refrigeration and Cryogenics, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China.

michel_bernier_web2 Dr. Michel Bernier, Professor at Polytechnique Montréal, Canada, was given the award for his research and teaching contributions with particular reference to geothermal heat pump systems. Dr. Bernier has made significant contributions to the advancement of heat pump technology through his research activities. With his graduate students, he has contributed to better understanding of dynamic processes in water to air heat pumps, and made numerous contributions to the improvement of modelling and design tools for ground-source heat pump systems.
He is also contributing to the education of the next generation of heat pump researchers and practitioners.