International Energy Agency

About the IEA

The IEA is an autonomous organisation which works to ensure reliable, affordable and clean energy for its 30 member countries and beyond.

Founded in 1974, the IEA was initially designed to help countries coordinate a collective response to major disruptions in the supply of oil such as the crisis of 1973/4. While this remains a key aspect of its work, the IEA has evolved and expanded. It is at the heart of global dialogue on energy, providing authoritative statistics and analysis.

An autonomous organization, the IEA examines the full spectrum of energy issues and advocates policies that will enhance the reliability, affordability, and sustainability of energy in its 30 member countries and beyond. The four main areas of IEA focus are:

  • Energy security: Promoting diversity, efficiency, and flexibility within all energy sectors;
  • Economic development: Ensuring the stable supply of energy to IEA member countries and promoting free markets to foster economic growth and eliminate energy poverty;
  • Environmental awareness: Enhancing international knowledge of options for tackling climate change; and
  • Engagement worldwide: Working closely with non-member countries, especially major producers and consumers, to find solutions to shared energy and environmental concerns.

For more information on the IEA, see the Frequently Asked Questions.


About the IEA Energy Technology Collaboration Programmes (TCPs)

The IEA TCPs are independent, international groups of experts that enable governments and industries from around the world lead programmes and projects on a wide range of energy technologies and related issues.

The current portfolio of TCPs comprises:

  • efficient end‑use (buildings, electricity, industry, transport)
  • cleaner fossil fuels (greenhouse‑gas mitigation, extraction, supply, transformation)
  • renewable energy and hydrogen (technologies and policies for deployment)
  • cross‑cutting issues (modelling, technology transfer, project financing)
  • fusion power (safety, physics, materials, technologies)

The 6,000 experts in the TCPs work to advance development and commercialisation of energy technologies. The scope and strategy of each TCP is in keeping with the IEA shared goals of energy security, environmental protection and economic growth, as well as engagement worldwide. Depending on the TCP, activities may include:

  • basic and applied research, technology development and pilot plants
  • technology assessment, feasibility studies, environmental impact studies, market analysis, policy implications; information exchange of research results and programs
  • scientist exchanges
  • databases, modeling, and systems analysis
  • experts’ networks

The TCPs are at the core of a network of senior experts consisting of the Committee on Energy Research and Technology (CERT), four working parties, and three expert groups – the IEA Energy Technology Network.

The CERT is supported by four expert Working Parties (end-use, fossil fuels, fusion and renewables) which oversee the activities of the TCPs and evaluate their outcomes at the end of each term. The Working Parties provide leadership by guiding the HPT TCP to shape work programs to address current energy issues, by regularly reviewing their accomplishments, and suggesting reinforced efforts where needed. See the IEA website for more information on the CERT and Working Parties.

The more than 6,000 specialists from more than 300 organizations in some 50 countries participating in the TCPs carry out a vast body of research through these various initiatives (more than 2,000 research topics to date).

Each TCP is organized under the auspices of an Implementing Agreement. The IEA Framework for International Technology Co‑operation specifies the minimum legal and management requirements for TCPs including the mandate, the nature of agreements, participation and withdrawal, copyright, length of term, reporting requirements and specific provisions concerning the structure of each program. The activities of each HPT TCP are governed by an Executive Committee (ExCo) comprised of representatives designated by each entity that becomes a signatory (participant).  For more information on TCPs, see the IEA Frequently Asked Questions.


About the TCP on Heat Pumping Technologies (HPT TCP)

The HPT TCP reports to the Working Party on Energy End-Use Technologies (EUWP). Created in 1977, the objectives of the HPT TCP are as follows:

  • The Programme shall consist of co-operative research, development, demonstrations, promotion, and exchanges of information aimed at supporting heat pumping technologies as realistic, reliable, and well-known devices to save energy resources and to reduce local and global emissions to protect the environment.
  • The Contracting Parties shall implement the Programme by undertaking one or more tasks. The tasks shall be open to participation by two or more Contracting Parties.

There are currently 17 entities participating in the HPT TCP representing governments from Europe, North America and the Asia-Pacific regions. If your entity would like to join, see our membership page.

Information or material of the HPT TCP (formally organized under the Implementing Agreement for a Programme of Research, Development, Demonstration, and Promotion of Heat Pumping Technologies) does not represent the views or policies of the IEA Secretariat or of the IEA’s individual Member countries. The IEA does not make any representation or warranty (express or implied) in respect of such information (including as to its completeness, accuracy, or non-infringement) and shall not be held liable for any use of, or reliance on, such information.